It’s for Real This Time…But How Will This Translate to the Trenches?

I am making a declaration to become the “teacher/student” that I have been asking other professionals in my school district and state to become.   I have come to this realization by way of @courosa, and his EC&I 831: Social Media and Education course.  I have been reading and consuming content (and am grateful for it), for too long and believe now that creating some is in order.   I intend to offer a graduate level class about social media and transformative teaching this spring, and by then, I hope to have created through this blog and other sites, an authentic, sustainable network of my own.

I have tried in the past to use discussion boards, twitter, Nings, etc to access immediate feedback to questions or interests, but have only been mildly successful.  That feedback was greatly dependent on the benevolence of others, and there are many of you out there.  Now though, I am inspired to share what I know more widely and more confident that it may have some value to someone.  That is a commitment, but not the hard part.

The hard part for me is, how will this all translate to being practical within the schedule and requirements of a typical teachers’ day?  I have learned how to manage Twitter through Tweetdeck and use #hashtags to search and inquire, but my schedule is flexible and I have a real interest in the social technologies and their benefits to personal learning.  Most of the teachers in my school though, have a full day, every day, just planning, grading, managing behavior, reporting, analyzing data, contributing to PLC’s, talking to parents…….  I consider it MY job as a librarian to direct them to sites and resources to prevent them from “reinventing the wheel”, but I am at a loss as to how they could reasonably manage monitoring blogs and hashtags to make the effort pay in a practical way.

So,  I am forming this first real world wide networking question in 140 characters in my head, and hope that there will be some help out here before this spring.  In the meantime, watch for me in these spaces.  I intend to contribute my part.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

